Nitya and Nikhil, these are two of my favorite things

Dear Nitya and Nikhil,

You are my favourite things in this world. You are the reason I wake up in the morning…literally. I’m always dragged out of bed by the two of you. And I crib but I love it! Remember this when I trudge off grumpily to get your milk in the morning.

You are the reason I cook, clean, wash, fold, write, even iron. In short, my world is as it is because you are there.

When I get sad, I think about what I would want you to do when you are sad and hey presto! I’m not sad anymore.

When I’m happy, I ask myself: What would I want Nitya and Nikhil to do? I go ahead and do that and I have memories.

When I’m disappointed, I do what I would want you to do…

Are you seeing a trend here? To quote Jack Nicholson in “As Good As It Gets”, you make me want to be a better person.

I want to be healthy, wise and happy so that you can be healthy, wise and happy.

No problem is small or big enough for me anymore. I will make friends and enemies for you. I will also go away and leave you for an evening or so that I can recharge my batteries and come back a better person.

My life is so much richer, more meaningful and wonderful because you are both there. I say this even as I sit in the middle of a cluttered house and listen to you playing in the next room. I say this knowing that Nikhil is going to cry soon because he is sleepy and ready for a nap.

I love you both. I love me more because of you. I make an effort because of you.

Leave a Reply

